Today, I received word that the same screenplay “Bring Back Girl” is among the 10 Finalists for the 2017 Academy Nicholl Fellowship. This is such a mind-blowing honor, what one would call a mic drop moment.
To be clear, I am not yet counted as “Winner,” which will go to five of the 10 Finalists. That decision will be made in October. Today, I am walking on air to have gotten this far (there were 7000+ screenplays submitted). My only request is that, wherever you are, drink a glass of wine tonight in my honor

The Academy established the Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting in 1986 to identify and encourage talented new screenwriters from around the world. Since the program’s creation, the Academy has awarded 147 fellowships.
This year’s finalists include nine individual screenwriters and one writing team. The Academy Nicholl Fellowships Committee, chaired by writer Robin Swicord, will meet in October to select up to five winners to receive year-long fellowships. A total of 7,102 scripts were submitted.
The finalists are (listed alphabetically):
Vigil Chime (New York, NY)
“Bring Back Girl”
SJ Inwards (Marina del Rey, CA)
“Jellyfish Summer”
Donn Kennedy (Sherman Oaks, CA)
“Roll the Bones”
Max Lance and Jen Bailey (Los Angeles, CA)
“The Queen of Sleaze”
KG Rockmaker (Montclair, NJ)
“Last Days of Winter”
Cesar Vitale (Santos, São Paulo, Brazil)
“The Great Nothing”
Lillian Wang (Moorestown, NJ)
“P.O. Box 1142”
Sharon Walker (Scotland, UK)
“The Cutting Season”
Michael A. Wright (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
“Still Life”
Chris Ryan Yeazel (Playa del Rey, CA)
“The Savage”
The fellowship winners will each receive a $35,000 prize, the first installment of which will be distributed at an awards presentation on Thursday, November 2, at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. For the fifth consecutive year, the event will also include a live read of selected scenes from the fellows’ winning scripts.




Leave Your Comment

Sign up to continue.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked.

Already a member?? Login