Okrika is a port town in Rivers State, Nigeria, capital of the Local Government Area of the same name. The town is situated on a small island just south of Port Harcourt, making it a suburb of the much larger city.
Formerly a small fishing village of the Ijo (Ijaw) people in the mangrove swamps of the eastern Niger River delta, Okrika became the capital of the Okrika kingdom in the early 17th century and actively dealt in slaves. It served as a port for the exportation of palm oil after the abolition of the slave trade in the 1830s, but it was a less significant port facility than either Bonny (18 miles [46 km] south) or Opobo (32 miles [81 km] east-southeast). By 1912, Okrika had been completely eclipsed by Port Harcourt, and it was not revived as a commercial port until 1965, when the nearby Alesa-Eleme oil refinery was completed and pipelines were built to a jetty on Okrika Island. It also has a major gas plant facility (Alakiri gas plant) that supplies to the refinery and others.
Refined petroleum products are Okrika’s only significant exports. The town has considerable local trade in fish, oil palm produce, locally processed salt, cassava (manioc), taro, plantains, and yams.
Nine traditional towns constituted the Okrika Kingdom before 1913, these towns are Kirike, Ogoloma, Ogu, Bolo, Abuloma, Ogbogbo, Ibaka, Ele and Isaka. Most of these traditional towns also have satellite villages. Today the constituent towns of Okrika kingdom have increased to eleven towns. The additional two towns are Obumoton (Part of Port Harcourt City) and Koniju Town (Koni-ama). Obumoton is a collective name for Okrika villages acquired by the British Colonial Government in 1913 to establish a sea port now Port Harcourt. Some Ikwere Igbo villages were also acquired by the Colonial Government. Obumoton (old Port Harcourt township) is also part of Okrika Kingdom. The Koniju section of Kirike was declared Koniju town by a Rivers State high court in 1995. It is now also a constituent town of Okrika Kingdom. The traditional town that constitutes the Okrika nation has therefore increased from nine towns prior to 1913 to eleven towns as at 1995. The constituent’s towns are therefore:  Okrika Town (Kirike) - the capital city of Okrika,  Ogolome (Ogoloma Town),  Ogu Town,  Bolo Town,  Okuru Ama (Town),  Amadi ama,  Abulome (Abuloma Town),  Ibaka Town,  Ogbogbo Town,  Ele Town,  Isaka Town,  Obumoton (Part of Port Harcourt City),  Koniju Town (Koni-ama)
The Okrikans like all other Ijo sub-groups of the Niger Delta are organized into autonomous and co-equal War-Canoe houses (Omuaru-wari). Kinsmen living together in the same area make up each War-Canoe House. Although the War-Canoe is an institution of kinship, historically, it deals principally with war and defence. War-Canoe houses may be different in terms of size and man power. However, Benefits and community assets are shared to the War-Canoe house equally and not based on their numerical strength. Every War-Canoe House is headed by a Chief who is assisted in various capacities by sub-chiefs. The Chief is addressed as the ‘Warinyanabo’ or ‘Waridabo’ showing his status as head of the entire War-Canoe house (Omuaru-wari). Each War-Canoe house also known as Omuaru-wari or Warinyengi is constituted by sub-units known variously as ‘Warikubu’ or ‘Oko’. Each sub-unit (Warikubu or Oko) is headed by a sub-chief known locally as the ‘Oko-tibidabo’. Each sub-unit (Warikubu or Oko) is further divided into extended family units known as ‘Furo’. Characterised by strong kinship ties, the Furo is composed of grandfathers, parents, uncles, aunts, brothers, sisters, cousins, nephews and nieces.
Within each War-Canoe house, there are four classes for men and three for women. Classes are referred to as ‘Mumbu’. Male members of the War-Canoe house apart from the Chief and the King (Amayanabo) are classed into ‘Opu Mumbu’ (first class), ‘Ogbobiri Mumbu’ (second Class), ‘Kala Mumbu’ (third class) and ‘Owuapu-awo’ (teenagers below 18 years of age). Similarly, females members of a War-Canoe house are classed into the ‘Opu Mumbu’ (first class), ‘Kala Mumbu’ (second class) and ‘Iria-Soka Awo’ (Maidens). The class system is an ordinary ranking system, however it ensures hard work and progress within the War-Canoe House. Ranking is usually based on age and achievements. However, the main factors that determine promotion to a given class may vary between War-Canoe Houses. As opposed to a Caste system, classes are neither heritable nor transferable. Therefore, no member of the War-Canoe house is born into a class. Members higher up the class have a greater share of the benefits and financial burdens of the War-Canoe House but decision making within the War-Canoe house is democratic.




Leave Your Comment

Sign up to continue.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked.

Already a member?? Login